Skip to content

I attended the Cirque Du Soleil show the last two nights!

February 12, 2012

Hey, I attended the Cirque Du Soleil show the last two nights! I had so much fun after going the first night that I bought tickets for the second night as soon as I got home! I must admit, however, that the mood was ruined right before the second show, as I found out about Whitney Houston’s death around 15 minutes prior to showtime, so that put a damper on things!

Here is my review of the experience, which I wrote after the first show: http://www.twitlonger.com/show/frp0et

Last night I attended the Michael Jackson: The Immortal World Tour by Cirque Du Soleil. I was absolutely blown away, but not just from the spectacular performances from the dancers, but more so by the atmosphere of being around a sellout crowd of over 20,000 Michael Jackson fans! I bought my 2nd row VIP tickets as soon as they went on sale in November 2010 (yes, you read that right! November 2010!).

As I arrived at the Toyota Center and walked among the crowds, I was absolutely amazed at the sheer diversity of the fans that were in attendance. There were LITERALLY fans of all ages, races, and socio-economic backgrounds! Everyone from young children to businessmen wearing three piece designer suits! I was particularly surprised at the number of middle aged fans in their 50’s , 60’s, and even 70’s, as this is the demographic that is usually the most prejudiced against Michael.

The best way to describe the atmosphere is that it was like being in “MJ Heaven”. To be around 20,000 fans, all equally showing their love and admiration for MJ, and not having to worry about hearing any snide jokes, or anyone questioning his innocence against the false allegations, and not having to explain to anyone why you love him so much, it was just such a RELIEF!!! Most MJ fans know that they usually have to be on guard when discussing MJ with complete strangers, as you never know how much their mind may have been poisoned by all of the tabloid garbage that has been written about him. I was on such an emotional high that I watched “This Is It” when I got home, just to continue feeling MJ’s magic!

As one of the co-admins of the Vindicate MJ blog, it was also a relief to just take a break and just enjoy the music and the magic without having to deal with all of the lies that I’ve been refuting day in and day out for the last few years. This show, and the multitude of fans that I had the pleasure of being around, has truly reinforced the need to fight for his legacy and debunk all of the lies. Just the thought that one of those fans could possibly stumble upon the trash of Diane Dimond or Maureen Orth and suddenly lose their love for MJ truly angers me, and so my resolve to continue my vindication work has increased exponentially!

As most of you probably know, I was only a “casual fan” of MJ while he was alive. I loved all of his greatest hits, but didn’t follow his personal life closely, especially when I started college. I was a full time grad student in 2005, and didn’t even know his trial had started until pajama day! So I certainly wasn’t “in love” with him like so many fans are, but tonight I saw the love up close and personal for the first time, and not only did I see it, I FELT IT! I was so overwhelmed with emotions that I did something I swore I wouldn’t do:

I actually CRIED!!!

I wasn’t balling or anything crazy, but my eyes did well up on a few occasions throughout the show, as I reminisced about all of my childhood memories of MJ, and the future memories of him that the entire world was robbed of on June 25th, 2009.

I was very impressed with the show, and it was certainly worth the price of admission! I wish they would have shown more footage of MJ on the big screen, and that the dancers would have performed his iconic dances (such as Beat It), but that’s just nitpicking on my part.

The one thing that most stands out to me is this: after the show ended, as I stood with other fans in an elevator, I overheard a woman in her late 30’s or early 40’s saying that she would have sold a kidney to go to London to see him, as it was on her bucket list to see MJ live in concert. That really put everything into perspective for me, and it personifies the love that so many fans have for MJ.

So with that said, I can’t wait to see what memories I have at the next show, as I bought ANOTHER ticket so that I could soak up the experience of being in “MJ Heaven” again!

How many fans can say that they went to two MJ Cirque Du Soleil shows on two consecutive nights? Not very many! I’m so lucky!

Rest in Peace Whitney Houston! You will be SORELY MISSED!

Here is a tribute to MJ from one of her concerts in 2010:

Here is MSNBC’s breaking news of Whitney’s death! Pay attention and notice how ALL of their footage was of her in court, or with Bobby acting crazy! They didn’t include a SINGLE second of concert footage!

Here is some info for you guys that you may not already know: Whitney Houston wasn’t the first person to sing “The Greatest Love of All”! It was a cover of George Benson’s version! It was originally his song!

Thank goodness she was able to rescue that song from relative obscurity!

Here is a beautiful water fountain tribute from Dubai set to her smash hit “I Will Always Love You”!

http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/e/16711680/wshhtx73b16tewp9FQ24

Just to show you guys how what great judgement he had when it comes to recognizing talent, here is an interview with Nisha Kataria, who was introduced to MJ and selected by him to go on the “This Is It” tour. She had to first audition for him and prove that she was talented enough to open for him, and guess what song MJ asked her to sing?

Here is a story from February 21st, 1994, where Houston defends MJ against the false allegations, and describes the double standard between the way whites and blacks are treated in the press:

Here is the tabloid article from June 29th, 1993, that Houston referenced in her quote above. They reported that she was addicted to diet pills! The parallels between Houston and MJ are amazing!

This video shows how disgusting and exploitative the music companies can be! Sony and Apple both increased the price of Whitney Houston’s albums within hours of her death!

Itunes Raise Price Of Whitney Houston Album, Furious Fans Protest

Sales of Whitney Houston albums have risen sharply in the US and UK, following her tragic death in Los Angeles on Saturday (February 11, 2012). The singer was found dead in the bathtub of her Beverly Hilton hotel room, though early reports suggest she did not drown.

As tributes to the late star continued at the Grammy Awards on Sunday, fans on Twitter noticed a sly price-increase on Whitney Houston albums on iTunes. ‘Whitney – The Greatest Hits’ is currently sitting at No. 2 on the iTunes US Chart, while ‘Whitney Houston – The Ultimate Collection’ is No. 2 on the UK iTunes chart. The latter album was initially offered at a price of 4.99, but increased by three-pound to 7.99 once news of her death began circulating. Numerous Twitter users described the price hike has “greedy” and “shameful”, while iTunes and Sony Music (Houston’s record label) declined to comment on the matter. One furious Whitney fan said, “Whitney Houston was killed, she wasn’t making her label enough money so they are going for one last big sale. Look at iTunes price increase”, while another offered, “iTunes increase the price of Whitney Houston albums after her death… I am sure she had a gold tooth, if you want that too Apple?!”. However, another fan defended the opportunistic price increase, saying, “People find it opportunistic that iTunes increase price of Whitney music due to high posthumous demand yet hotels increase prices when busy?”. Following the angry reaction, the price of the album has since reverted back to 4.99.

Houston also has two other albums in the US iTunes Top 20 – her self-titled debut, and the soundtrack to ‘The Bodyguard’.

http://www.contactmusic.com/news/itunes-raise-price-of-whitney-houston-album-furious-fans-protest_1294137

Here’s another article on the price increase, and the complete sell-out of her albums!

SACRAMENTO, CA – Whitney Houston performed twice at then ARCO Arena in the 1990s and while some fans never got to see her on stage, they’re not missing out on the chance to own Houston’s albums.

“She’s always seemed very grateful for the fans that she has and the fame that she achieved,” said fan Earle Steele, who spent Monday morning looking for Houston albums at The Beat in midtown Sacramento.

“So that I would be sure to have her music and have it for as long as I live. She’s just such a tremendous artist. I’ve heard a lot of artists and she’s just among the greatest, I think,”  Steele added.

Throughout the day, customers at The Beat came to look for Houston albums that some now consider collectible.

“It’s pretty common. Michael Jackson was huge,” said Brad Fauble who works at The Beat. “It creates a frenzy: People want to remember somebody. It’s a nice way to say goodbye.”

At the music store, not everyone was purchasing Houston items for their personal collections. One customer, who did not want to be identified, bought two albums on Monday and plans to sell them online.

“Anything rare or unusual for somebody who dies it’s going to go for more money on eBay for a week or two and then it’s going to go back to normal,” said Fauble.

On iTunes, Apple increased its price for Houston’s “Ultimate Collection” from $4.70 to $12.60 about 30 minutes after Houston’s death was reported.

“Obviously capitalistic. Kind of taking advantage of it but that’s kind of business — business is business,” said fan Leslie Keesling.

“It’s really sad. She’s an incredible talent. (She) had a really difficult life,” said fan Dave Malley.

Malley was hoping Houston would make a comeback and release another album, but now he’s just glad to have one in hand: He bought the last vinyl record in stock on Monday at The Beat.

“It will be great,” Malley said.

http://www.news10.net/news/article/178516/2/Whitney-Houston-albums-nearly-sold-out-at-Sacramento-music-store

Whitney has sold more records in the last 3 days than she did throughout all of 2011 and up to the day she died on February 11th, 2012!

Whitney Houston catalog sees huge gains after singer’s death

“I Will Always Love You,” Whitney Houston’s biggest hit, sold 195,000 downloads in the week ending Sunday, up from 3,000 copies the week before, according to Nielsen SoundScan. Presumably, most were sold after the singer’s death Saturday afternoon, a sales window of one day.

“Always” makes its debut on the digital songs chart at No. 6, according to Billboard, which also notes seven other Houston tunes that landed on the list: “I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)” at No. 25 (74,000), “Greatest Love of All” at No. 32 (60,000), “How Will I Know” at No. 46 (43,000), “I Have Nothing” at No. 53 (38,000), “Saving All My Love for You” at No. 65 (33,000), “One Moment in Time” at No. 74 (30,000) and “The Star Spangled Banner” at No. 75 (29,000).

Postmortem sales of the diva’s other songs and albums also surged. She sold a total of 101,000 albums, up nearly 6,000% from a week earlier. Of those, 91,000 were downloads. The top seller was “Whitney: The Greatest Hits,” an 18-track set released in 2000. It sold 64,000 copies, 107 times the 600 copies sold the week prior, to re-enter Billboard at No. 6.

Fans bought 887,000 digital tracks by Houston, compared to 15,000 the week before.

Consumers scooped up more Houston albums last week than in all the preceding weeks of 2012 and all of 2011 combined,Billboard reports. A higher tally is expected after sales from a full week (ending Feb. 19) are tabulated.

http://www.azcentral.com/thingstodo/music/articles/2012/02/14/20120214whitney-houston-catalog-sees-huge-post-mortem-gains.html

Here is the most amazing cover of “I Will Always Love You” that I’ve ever heard! If you guys can find a better cover, please let me know, although I doubt that will ever happen!

After hearing their amazing voices, I thought to myself “Maybe they have a few Michael Jackson covers in their video playlist?”, and sure enough, they do! Here’s a mash-up of “I’ll Be There” and “Will You Be There” that was posted last year on June 24th, 2011:

And as further proof that Whitney was a true music icon, here is a hateful parody of her most famous song by the hatemongers known as the Westboro Baptist Church!

Here are MJ and Whitney with Nelson Mandela, which is an indication of how iconic both artists were! There aren’t too many musicians that can say they’ve met him!

MJ and Whitney are BOTH Apollo Legends!

Here are some photos of MJ and Whitney in happier times:

32 Comments leave one →
  1. sanemjfan permalink
    May 24, 2013 8:40 am

    Well guys, what everyone hoped for (or dreaded! LOL!) has finally come to fruition! An MJ hologram is now being used in the new MJ One show in Vegas! Forbes has confirmed it! If you don’t want any spoilers on how and when it’s used in the show, don’t read the article:

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/zackomalleygreenburg/2013/05/24/michael-jacksons-hologram-rocks-las-vegas-arena/

    I’m not surprised, because a few years ago the President of Cirque Du Soleil hinted at the possibility of a hologram being used: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eo588zbf2-Y

    Like

  2. sanemjfan permalink
    May 13, 2013 4:04 am

    Helena,
    Did you get to attend the Cirque Du Soleil Immortal show when it played in Russia? It played in Moscow in January 2013. I hope you didn’t miss it!

    Like

  3. Mona permalink
    February 28, 2012 1:10 am

    I was also so saddened by Whitney’s untimely death, she was such a sweet gorgeous woman and an amazing artist. The way she died should raise a flag to us all… too many similar deaths in the entertainment world. The moment I heard how it happened I thought about Michael and the rest who passed in the meantime. Such a tragic loss.

    R.I.P., Whitney

    Love

    Like

  4. Mona permalink
    February 28, 2012 1:09 am

    I’m so baffled by the parody song and video made by the Westboro Baptist Church! Where do these people find each other? Are they natural born haters? ‘God Hates You?’ OMG… They’re despicable.

    Like

  5. sanemjfan permalink
    February 26, 2012 3:50 am

    I added a new video of the hateful Westboro Baptist Church doing a parody of Whitney Houston’s most famous song, and that is certainly a sign that she’s a true icon! LOL!

    Like

  6. February 15, 2012 11:28 pm

    “I just want to bring it to your attention that Mr.sanemjfan who posts under the name ChasUGC on topix is a massive homophobe. I hope the owner of this free WordPress blog will take action against Mr.sanemjfan.”

    Ghostbusters, thank you for information that there is another impostor on Topix who is masquerading as sanemjfan. Our sanemjfan and their sanemjfan have nothing to do with each other. Our sanemjfan has never written on Topix before and is certainly not doing it now that we have found out what Topix is like. Any use of the same name is either pure coincidence or the usual irresponsible clowning the Topix people are arranging for their readers.

    Let me make an official declaration on the part of all admins of this blog. After my one-time appeal to the Topix people to stop insulting us was not heard NONE OF US have been writing on Topix. So whenever you see someone writing there under our names you can safely report these people to the Topix administrators as impostors who are breaking internet regulations and all human decency rules.

    Like

  7. sanemjfan permalink
    February 15, 2012 10:08 am

    I’ve added some more videos! I found an amazing musical group that sung tributes to both MJ and Whitney! I also added an article that describes how Whitney has sold more records since her death than she did throughout all of 2011 and 2012!

    Like

  8. sanemjfan permalink
    February 14, 2012 3:09 pm

    I’ve added some more videos to the post! Sony and Apple INCREASED the price of Whitney’s albums on the day that she died! Despicable!

    Like

  9. February 14, 2012 6:37 am

    I was at the Toyota Center Friday and SAturday nites also. Went the first night with family, the second nite with friends. It was jam packed with people both nites. We all were singing and dancing the whole way thru. I totally loved it. I saw it in Vegas opening weekend but was in nosebleed section. For these 2 shows I got a much better view so got to really enjoy it. You are right about this show being great. I think the Cirque people did a great job in bringing his music and dance out. Loved the storyline the whole way thru. It reminded everyone once again what a great person this world lost. I am looking forward to the permanet show when it hits Vegas.

    Like

  10. ALTTampa permalink
    February 14, 2012 6:30 am

    @Ghostbuster In case you didn’t notice, the purpose of this word press is to Vindicate Michael Jackson. It’s used to correct, clarify and refute the lies that have been written about Michael. If you have something against the admins, this is not the place to discuss it. Please keep in mind all we, the readers of this wordpress are interested in is information that changes the way the world sees Michael and restores the legacy of an extraordinary man. Please don’t bring that other nonsense here.

    Like

  11. Ghostbusters permalink
    February 14, 2012 1:41 am

    Well would you look at that as soon as Mr.sanemjfan came online so did the homophobic creep ChasUGC at topix. I’m telling you people this is the same user. He’s a homophobe and I would not stand for it. This is a good free WordPress blog that does it’s best to vindicate Michael. But having a homophobe like Mr.sanemjfan destroys all your credibility.

    http://www.topix.com/forum/who/michael-jackson/T2P59UVDO5U0R8JOC/p6#c122

    * * *
    VMJ: Ghostbusters, thank you for information that there is another impostor on Topix who is masquerading as sanemjfan. Our sanemjfan and their sanemjfan have nothing to do with each other. Our sanemjfan has never written on Topix before and is certainly not doing it now that we have found out what Topix is like. Any use of the same name is either pure coincidence or the usual irresponsible clowning the Topix people are arranging for their readers.

    Let me make an official declaration on the part of all admins of this blog. After my one-time appeal to the Topix people to stop insulting us was not heard NONE OF US have been writing on Topix. So whenever you see someone writing there under our names you can safely report these people to the Topix administrators as impostors who are breaking internet regulations and all human decency rules.

    Like

  12. sanemjfan permalink
    February 14, 2012 1:19 am

    @ Nan
    Yes, he sure does! Go to the post from last November that celebrates our 500,000th hit, and you’ll see the screenshot of him following me on Twitter! Sorry, I’m pressed for time and can’t get you the link at the moment.

    Like

  13. nan permalink
    February 14, 2012 12:54 am

    Evidently sanemjfan”s research is a thorn in someones side..Just like with MJ, they want to throw some dirt to see if any will stick.
    Nobody is buying that garbage…
    Sounds like they are getting desperate..
    BTW I heard Joe Vogel follows sanemjfan on twitter.
    That is quite a compliment..:))

    Like

  14. Julie permalink
    February 14, 2012 12:39 am

    Ghostbusters – grow up!

    Like

  15. Ghostbusters permalink
    February 13, 2012 10:33 pm

    I just want to bring it to your attention that Mr.sanemjfan who posts under the name ChasUGC on topix is a massive homophobe. Now, whatever your beliefs are I think you’ll all agree that homophobia is a thing of the past and should not be tolerated in this day and age.

    http://www.topix.com/forum/who/michael-jackson/TI3LKICKGQ8PS6I9H

    I hope the owner of this free WordPress blog will take action against Mr.sanemjfan.

    Thanks for your time vindicatingmj.

    Like

  16. sanemjfan permalink
    February 13, 2012 8:14 pm

    I’ve added some more photos of MJ and Whitney with Nelson Mandela, and the Apollo tribute to both of them.

    Like

  17. Truth Prevail permalink
    February 13, 2012 6:57 pm

    Here is another tribute from Whitney to Michael she talks about him near the end of the video.

    Like

  18. February 13, 2012 6:22 pm

    Yes, it’s good to get away from all the heavy-handed stuff once in awhile, to just let your hair down and enjoy what it is to be a FAN. It always comes back to the music and the magic because that’s really what it was all about-and really, all that Michael ever wanted it to be about!

    I’m glad you had a great time. I’m hoping I will get to go this spring (at least two dates are very close to home) but starting to worry as based on what everyone is saying, I may have waited too late to get tix! (Sad face). I hope not.

    Like

  19. Susanne permalink*
    February 13, 2012 2:17 pm

    Thanks for this review, David. I plan to see the show in November in Frankfurt.

    With another black icon now having left our music world (almost together with Etta James) we always have to remember what music history would be without them. I just cannot imagine.

    Like

  20. lenell permalink
    February 13, 2012 1:26 pm

    David, lucky you…got to see it twice. I enjoy very much your blogs…thank you so much for your incredible work in vindicating Michael; he’s smiling down on you and your team. Again thank you!

    Like

  21. sanemjfan permalink
    February 13, 2012 11:41 am

    I added some more videos, and 2 articles that show how Whitney defended MJ, and how lies were also spread about her too!

    Like

  22. Sly permalink
    February 13, 2012 8:01 am

    Hello SaneMJFan, you are in NO WAY just a “casual” MJ fan. Be for real.

    I LOVE that 2nd picture here of Michael and Whitney. And you can certainly see that his hand is a different shade than his face due to vitiligo. I can’t believe how he was well scrutinized all those years and photogs, etc. had not figured out that he had the skin disease! It would have saved Michael a lot of grief if people had just ACCEPTED his explanations — about almost EVERYTHING! Poor baby.

    Like

  23. Carm permalink
    February 13, 2012 3:39 am

    I saw it in October last year. (It’s actually coming back to my city in July) It was great. I especially enjoyed the second half, which concentrated more on MJ’s later more socially-concious work–it was extremely powerful and effective.
    I think that if I saw it a second time I would like it even more, now that I know what to expect. It is after all a Cirque show, not a Michael Jackson concert. (Of course I knew that…)

    I hope Jennifer Batten’s Michael Jackson tribute show will make a stop in my city–that should also be very exciting.

    Like

  24. appleh permalink
    February 13, 2012 1:28 am

    Bought my tickets for CdS in December 2012 ! Can´t wait for it !

    I was shocked, when I heard the news of Whitney Houstons demise this morning ! May she rest in peace and hope she is in a better place now !!!

    Like

  25. Myrna Ramos permalink
    February 13, 2012 1:04 am

    Whitney Huston and Michael Jackson are now holding hands! Gone too soon! L.O.V.E. Myrna

    Like

  26. Teva permalink
    February 12, 2012 10:41 pm

    R I P Whitney Houston.

    Like

  27. Suzy permalink
    February 12, 2012 9:38 pm

    Thanks for the review, David. I bought my tickets for December, 2012 in Europe. I can’t wait!

    I was shocked by the news of Whitney Houston’s death this morning. So sad. I loved her very much. RIP Whitney!

    Like

  28. February 12, 2012 9:28 pm

    I loved reading your review. I also bought my tickets when they went on sale in November 2010. I bought tickets with a prayer in my heart that I would be able to go with a dear friend as the two of us were having some difficulties and were experiencing some time apart.

    I loved Michael and the Jackson Five from the time I was a little girl and I was listening to their albums on our record player. I watched Michael’s solo career soar to the sky with Off The Wall, Thriller, Bad, & History. I followed Michael and his music over the decades. But, like you, something happened on June 25, 2009 and I began to find out who the man behind the music truly was and I fell in love with his heart.

    I loved hearing your description of the show especially the atmosphere of MJ fans and the sheer variation of people he attracted which was simply; everyone. I also found myself crying more than a few times. Not only would Michael would have loved the show but I’m sure a big smile would be on his face to know how much we loved not only his music but the man himself. Not only that but 2 years, 2 months later I was sitting with the friend I had prayed we’d be going together. My prayers had been answered. I was crying because I missed Michael, I wish he could have seen the show and I was sitting next to my friend, watching the show together.

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I especially loved that you came home to watch This is It, to continue the Michael magic. You are very lucky to have seen the show twice. I love your blogs and thank you for your commitment to spreading the truth about Michael Jackson. Thank you.

    Like

  29. February 12, 2012 9:24 pm

    “I added some photos of MJ and Whitney!”

    David, I’ve posted one more. The death of Whitney Houston is adding some bitterness to your story. Her singing was unrivalled and it is awful news that she had to die so young. But now at least she is enjoying peace. The picture of her and MJ sitting together on a cloud is marvellous. I hope this is what is indeed happening now.

    “The good news is that the show will be touring Europe later this year! Dates are still being announced, so maybe it will come to Russia? Don’t give up hope! Here is the schedule so far: http://www.cirquedusoleil.com/en/shows/michael-jackson-tour/tickets.aspx“

    We are not yet on the list. Okay, I am not giving up hope and will try to survive until then. Generally I don’t go anywhere but this show is a must-see and something worth living for.

    Like

  30. February 12, 2012 9:07 pm

    “I went from loving his music to falling in love with the man he was.”

    All Michael’s new supporters seem to be going the same road. It starts with interest and love for his music and dance, but you end up being in love with the man he was. It is loving Michael as a human being and sharing his values in life is what makes Michael’s supporters so close to each other.

    Like

  31. Theresa Biggerstaff permalink
    February 12, 2012 8:27 pm

    You are not alone. Like you I was a casual fan who loved his music but don’t usually care about a prominent person’s private life. I was busy working and raising a family and didn’t really know about allegations and have never read tabloids. After June, 25, 2009, something just hit me and I read everything I could get my hands on about him. I researched and expanded my MJ music collection to nearly 1300 variations of songs. I went from loving his music to falling in love with the man he was.

    I saw the Cirque show in Las Vegas in December 2011 having bought my ticket in Nov 2010. I loved the show and atmosphere so much that I went again 2 days later. I will also be seeing it here in MN next month.

    Go Michael! Keep up the good work on behalf of Michael’s legacy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

